MSN Feature Offers Scam Emails

Here’s and email that came to me titled “The wife John McCain home pics” (just before that one said “Michelle Obama dying”) Anyway, here’s where things get tricky. Below is the content of the email.

Click Here
About this mailing:
You are receiving this e-mail because you subscribed to MSN Featured Offers. Microsoft respects your privacy. If you do not wish to receive this MSN Featured Offers e-mail, please click the “Unsubscribe” link below. This will not unsubscribe you from e-mail communications from third-party advertisers that may appear in MSN Feature Offers. This shall not constitute an offer by MSN. MSN shall not be responsible or liable for the advertisers’ content nor any of the goods or service advertised. Prices and item availability subject to change without notice.

?2008 Microsoft | Unsubscribe | More Newsletters | Privacy

Microsoft Corporation, One Microsoft Way, Redmond, WA 98052

The problem with this email is, they lead you to believe that this is coming from Microsoft. But the fishy part is, the email looked like it came from me. Why would Microsoft want to spoof my own email address. The second part is the fact that the “Click Here”  “Unsubscribe” “More Newsletters” “Privacy” all pointed to a China domain – xul.ctdipob.cn

If you ever wonder how these email are being generated, you might want to stop by these links to get a better understanding.

Researchers Hijack Storm Worm To Track Profits

Here’s the link to the original story

This entry was posted in Scams and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>