Careerbuilder & Scam Artists Will It Ever End

So I get this email today, actually yesterday, which makes my point even worse. I was contacted by a Juan Alvarez for some BS job for some unknown website.

Hello,
We received your resume  #999999999 (some random numbers) corresponding  to email  **myemail**  from Careerbuilder . It has been reviewed by our Human Resource Department and you are qualifying for a position with our company.

We have our terms and conditions along with the job description here:

www.webdesigns-corp.com/careers.htm (Not sure I want to click on that or want anyone else going there either)

(copy and paste the link in a new browser if it doesn’t work clicking on it )

On Payments Account Manager/  Payments Processing Terms and Conditions you can read all about this job.

Base salary per year will be between $65,000 – $75,000 with possibility of raising

Please read them closely and if  you agree and comply with them let us know and we can start right away. We are looking for a self motivated person eager to provide the best for the company.

Juan Alvarez

Chief Executive

Wow this sounds great. I could only image what a “Payments Account Manager” would do. Without digging into this, I assumed this is a scam. My first thought was I would be collecting money of some sort.

So, you want to see why this is a scam. If this was a legit company, who is able to afford to pay someone $60+ grand a year, there wouldn’t be a reason to hide behind private whois information.

[whois.activeregistrar.com]
Registration Service Provided By: Active-Domain LLC
Contact:  http://www.active-domain.com

Domain Name: webdesigns-corp.com
Expiry Date: 15-Sep-2009
Creation Date: 15-Sep-2008

Name servers:
ns32.mochahost.com
ns33.mochahost.com

Registrant Name: Whois Manager
Registrant Company: Whois Proof LLP
Registrant Email Address: sh3z6c1x@whoisproof.com
Registrant Address: PO Box 4120
Registrant City: Portland
Registrant State/Region/Province: OR
Registrant Postal Code: 97208-4120
Registrant Country: US
Registrant Tel No: +1.2024700599
Registrant Fax No: +1.8663666681

Admin Name: Whois Manager
Admin Company: Whois Proof LLP
Admin Email Address: sh3z6c1x@whoisproof.com
Admin Address: PO Box 4120
Admin City: Portland
Admin State/Region/Province: OR
Admin Postal Code: 97208-4120
Admin Country: US
Admin Tel No: +1.2024700599
Admin Fax No: +1.8663666681

Tech Name: Whois Manager
Tech Company: Whois Proof LLP
Tech Email Address: sh3z6c1x@whoisproof.com
Tech Address: PO Box 4120
Tech City: Portland
Tech State/Region/Province: OR
Tech Postal Code: 97208-4120
Tech Country: US
Tech Tel No: +1.2024700599
Tech Fax No: +1.8663666681

Come on now, Careerbuilder, you guys need to start weeding this crap out. This “company” website was registered the same day I got this “spam”.

Looks like I’m not the only one seeing this.

Rip-off Report: Webdesigns-corp.com Scam, SECURE WEB SOLUTIONS INC

Sep 15, 2008 www.webdesigns-corp.com/careers.htm (copy and paste the link in a new browser if it doesn’t work clicking on it )
www.ripoffreport.com/reports/0/373/RipOff0373192.htm – 43k – 9 hours ago –

Anyway, for anyone looking to get a new job and you see these kind of emails come across, do yourself a favor and atleast do a whois search for the company. You might be surprised (or not) at what you will find.

This entry was posted in news news and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>